Learn to play the banjo

Banjounterricht

Want to learn the basics of clawhammer banjo playing, expand your repertoire, or improve your technique? Whether it's a single session or regular lessons, just get in touch. 

Lessons in German or English.

Want to learn the basics of clawhammer banjo playing, expand your repertoire, or improve your technique? Whether it’s a single session or regular lessons, just use the contac form to send me an e-mail.

Can I do this?

Learning to play the clawhammer banjo is not that difficult. Beginners of any age and without previous knowledge can accompany songs and play in jams after a short time. If you already play ukulele or guitar, you can easily transfer your knowledge to the banjo. In contrast to the bluegrass style, you don't need fingerpicks.

Eigenes Instrument oder Miete?

Basically, every 5-string banjo is suitable for the clawhammer playing technique, even if, in contrast to bluegrass, so-called open-back banjos are often used. Decent banjos for beginners are now available from about CHF 500-600.- I will be happy to advise you. Banjos can also be rented.

Face-to-face or online?

The private lessons take place in Wädenswil or in the comfort of your own home via the Internet (ZOOM, Skype, etc.). Online lessons are not quite the same as sitting directly opposite each other. But it works across national borders and saves a lot of time and protects the climate. 

Style matters: Clawhammer is not Bluegrass!

Listen and watch the examples below on YouTube, then decide which style you want to learn.

Clawhammer
Bluegrass, 3-Finger-Picking

I only teach clawhammer style. If you'd rather learn the bluegrass style, check out these list of bluegrass banjo teachers .

Contact

If you are interested in clawhammer banjo lessons or have other questions, use the contact form.

I look forward to meeting you.

Greetings, Caspar

«A man who plays the banjo has got it made

[Stringbean]

Banjo spielen lernen

Banjounterricht

Möchtest du die Grundlagen des Clawhammer-Banjospiels erlernen, dein Repertoire erweitern oder deine Technik verbessern? Ob einzelne Session oder regelmässiger Unterricht, frag doch einfach einmal an. 

Kann ich das lernen?

Clawhammer-Banjo spielen zu lernen ist gar nicht so schwierig. Anfänger*innen jeden Alters und ohne Vorkenntnisse können schon nach kurzer Zeit Lieder begleiten und in Jams mitspielen. Wer bereits Ukulele oder Gitarre spielt, kann seine Kenntnisse leicht auf das Banjo übertragen.

Eigenes Instrument oder Miete?

Grundsätzlich eignet sich jedes 5-saitige Banjo für die Clawhammer-Spieltechnik, auch wenn im Unterschied zum Bluegrass häufig sogenannte Open-Back-Banjos verwendet werden. Ordentliche Anfänger-Banjos gibt es neu ab ca. CHF 500-600.- Ich berate dich gerne. Banjos können auch gemietet werden.

Face-to-face oder online?

Der Einzelunterricht findet in Wädenswil statt oder ganz bequem bei dir zu Hause über das Internet via (ZOOM, Skype, etc.). Online-Lektion sind zwar nicht ganz dasselbe, wie wenn man sich direkt gegenüber sitzt. Das Ganze funktioniert dafür aber auch über Landesgrenzen hinweg und spart viel Zeit und schont das Klima. 

Kontakt

Wenn du dich für Clawhammer-Banjo-Unterricht interessiert oder andere Fragen hast, benutze das Kontaktformular.

Ich freue mich darauf, dich kennenzulernen.

Viele Grüsse, Caspar

«A man who plays the banjo has got it made

[Stringbean]